Hip Hop videos from my Pre-America days

Standard

I moved the United of all States in the summer of 1992, and I have to admit  that I was fresh off the El Al flight, but I still knew the time thanks to my older brother. By 1993 my ears opened up to the multitude of music coming from the US. I’m not saying that I was devoid of American music while growing up in Israel, but being a youngen gave me the rebellious feel to search and destroy. I first got into Hip Hop music in Israel looting my brother’s tapes and banging what beats I could, before he gave me the head nod. I remember hearing many groups and artists like KRS-ONE, Run-DMC (check out Touger Than Leather, the film is one of my personal favorites), Big Daddy Kane, Eric B & Rakim, LL Cool J, the Beastie Boys, and of course one of my most vivid recollections of all time, 2 Live Crew’s seminal classic album, As Nasty As They Wanna Be.

I know I drop the Jewish Hip Hop love, but I still have a profound love for Hip Hop culture. These are some of my favorite videos I remember seeing before I moved to the United States, and I hope you enjoy this Israeli/American’s shout out to my life long love, Hip Hop.

2 Live Crew’s “Me So Horney”

and their video for “Do Wah Diddy”

Public Enemy’s video for “Can’t Trust It”

The Beastie Boys video for “Hey Ladies”

Run-DMC’s “Mary, Mary” from their phat ass movie, Tougher Than Leather

For shits and giggles, here’s a link to the full length movie.

LL Cool J’s video for “Mama Said Knock You Out” which is also featured in his debut film role alongside James Woods and Michael J. Fox in The Hard Way.

And of course one of my favorite introductions into bad-ass black cinema in the guise of the great film, New Jack City.

Leave a Reply

